Category: Dailies


Electric motorcycle racing is coming to America on May 16 with 12 teams
entering the first-ever TTXGP race to take place on this continent. To
put that in perspective, there were 20 entries at the fledgling series'
first race at the Isle of Man last June and five entries in the first race of the rival FIM e-Power series. The entries are eclectic, running
the gamut from the flashy Mavizen TTX02 and an as-yet-unseen Zero/Agni
collaboration to the eccentric, with one bike being based on a 1966
Norton Atlas.

Update: here's a $5 one-day or $10 weekend coupon.

The race itself is taking place at Northern California's Infineon Raceway and is part of a four race national and 13 race international series with a world final taking place at Spain's Albacete on October 24.

As expected, Brammo is sitting this one out as is MotoCzysz. We did expect to see the Mission One race, but David Salguero, Mission's marketing manager told us, "In 2010, our engineers have been primarily focused on meeting our production goals for the Mission One, which we are planning to deliver to customers in 2011. What that means for us right now is that we will not be racing at Infineon next month. We definitely look forward to being back at the track soon. Our goal right now is to complete the second-generation race bike in time to race at later-season events."

The guys from Brammo will be hanging out with us trackside at the event and Michael Czysz is readying an all-new electric bike that will compete at the Isle of Man in June.

We exclusively revealed details of the Zero/Agni racer back in March, but to recap, it's going to use an all-new single motor instead of the double motor setup of last year's TTXGP winning Agni X01 or the Mavizen TTX02. That Agni motor will be housed in a proprietary Zero frame that the company's CEO says will be "heavily based" on that of the Zero S.

Here's the complete list of entries:

Electric Motorsport, Oakland
Electric Motorsport, a.k.a. Native Cycles, won the open class of the 2009 Isle of Man TTXGP (for bikes that cost less than $33,000 to build) using a modified version of its production electric GPR-S motorcycle. The only Isle of Man TTXGP competitor to compete in the TTXGP North America, Electric Motorsport will race a converted Yamaha R1 with a custom-wound AC induction motor and a 10.5 kilowatt-hour, 108-volt battery pack capable of propelling the bike to 120 mph.

Werkstatt Motorcycle Racing and Repair, San Francisco
Shop owner  Jennifer Bromme  will race the $45,000 Mavizen TTX02, which uses the chassis of a KTM RC8. The 81-horsepower machine uses a 96-volt Agni 95R motor and has a top speed of 130 mph.

ZeroAgni, Scotts Valley, Calif.
An international partnership, ZeroAgni outfits an electric street bike from Santa Cruz-based Zero Motorcycles with a British-based Agni Motor - the same DC motor that propelled the Agni Motors  motorcycle to the top of the podium at the inaugural Isle of Man TTXGP  with an average speed of 87.734 mph, and a top speed of 106 mph, on the 37.73-mile course.

Electric Race Bikes, Santa Rosa, Calif.
Powered with two Agni  95R motors and 72 volts of lithium-ion batteries, the Electric Grand Prix, or EGP, bike will be piloted by American Federation of Motorcycles Formula III class winner Mike Hannas.

Swigz, Aliso Viejo
Founded by American pro rider Chip Yates, the Swigz e-bike is built using the frame of a Suzuki GSX-R750 and produces 190 horsepower from its liquid-cooled, permanent magnet DC motor.

K Squared Racing, Scotts Valley, Calif.
The K Squared Racing motorcycle is built from a production Zero S street bike from Zero Motorcycles in Santa Cruz with a modified Aftershocks suspension. The bike uses a permanent magnet brushed DC motor and 5.4 kilowatt-hour battery pack. Its top speed is 110 mph and its range (at race pace) is 30 miles. Zero electrical engineer Kenyon Kluge will race the bike.

Blue Grass, Monterey, Va.
The only licensed antique vehicle to race the TTXGP, the Electra is a 1966 Norton Atlas retrofitted with a lithium polymer battery and 118-volt AC induction motor. The 50-horsepower bike claims a top speed of 120 mph.

Pril Motors, San Mateo, Calif.
Pril will race a next-generation version of its XR1 - a converted Kawasaki Ninja that, in its original version, was powered with six lead-acid batteries.

Volt, Sebastopol, Calif.
Not much is known about Volt, except that the bike will be built by Lore and Eland Eggers, who are employees of Thunderstruck, a longstanding mom-and-pop EV shop in Sebastopol, Calif.

Square Wave Racing, Columbus, Ohio
A partnership between EV builder Sean Ewing, Jordan Rhyne of Rhyne Electric Powersports and racer John Wild, Square Wave will race a 1996 Honda CBR600F3 converted to electric with an 8-kilowatt-hour lithium-ion battery pack. The 35-horsepower bike claims a top speed of 120 mph.

Lightning, Woodside, Calif.
No additional information available.

Empirical Electric, Palo Alto, Calif.
No additional information available.

Via LATimes

comments powered by Disqus