Category: Dailies


Riding the Agni X01, Rob Barber has won the first TTXGP. The 2007 GSX-R600-based electric motorcycle uses two Agni 95 reinforced motors and a Kokam lithium polymer battery of 42 cells totaling around 12 kilowatt-hours of energy. According to the team, this gave around 40 or 50bhp for the entire length of the race. Barber completed the lap in 25:53.50 averaging 87.434mph and maxing out at 97.8mph at the Sulby speed trap. This breaks the 50cc lap record that was set in 1971.

Update: full race results below.

Update 2: Chris Heath and Electric Motorsport had their disqualification overturned and are, in fact, the winners of the Open Class.

In second place is Thomas Schoenfelder riding for XXL racing, followed by Mark Buckley on the Brammo Enertia TTR.

In the open class, Chris Heath won for Electric Motorsport. Chris Heath has been disqualified, giving the win to Chris Petty and Barefoot Motors.

Pos 1   AGNI X01 (Rob Barber) - Time: 25:53:50 - Speed: 87.434
Pos 2   XXL Racing Team (Thomas Schoenfelder) - Time: 29:04:93 - Speed: 77.841
Pos 3   Brammo (Mark Buckley) - Time: 30:02:64 - Speed: 75.350
Pos 4   Mission Motors (Thomas Montano) - Time: 30:33:26 - Speed: 74.091
Pos 5   HTBlauva (Paul Dobbs) - Time: 36.10.63 - Speed: 62.575
Pos 6   Brunel X-team (Stephen Harper) - Time: 56:27:89 - Speed: 40.092
OPEN Class
Pos 1   Electric Motorsport (Chris Heath) - Time: 34:17:30 - Speed: 66.022
Pos 2   Barefoot Motors (Chris Petty) - Time: 36:23:06 - Speed: 62.219
Pos 3   TORK (John Crellin) - Time: 37:26:01 - Speed: 60.475

Two riders, Chris Heath (Electric Motorsport) and Paul Dobbs (HTBlauva), who were originally disqualified, were unaware that they were required to sound horns while racing under yellow flags and the overall result was not in any way influenced by their actions.

comments powered by Disqus